R5 advice?

(R3, R5, R7, R30, R35)
Flash33
Ensign
Ensign

R5 advice?

Post by Flash33 »

Hello-

I'm new to boating and new to Cobalt. Was wondering what advice you all would have about essential and/ or desired options/ features to get on a new R5? Also are there any things to avoid? Appreciate the input and thanks in advance.
Soonerfan
Captain
Captain

Re: R5 advice?

Post by Soonerfan »

Welcome, to the forum. Be careful what you ask for as I found this forum last fall in search of advice on ordering my new R7. The wonderful folks on here graciously offered to help my spend my money by adding option after option that I hadn't even considered. :D

Seriously, for me I would get all the options that I can afford and rank them in order of what can I add later if I need to. Then get the ones from the factory that are more difficult to add aftermarket if you can't afford everything now.

On my R7 here are a couple of the options (in no particular order) I have found very useful since getting her.

Rudder Indicator - I am coming from an outboard so this has been awesome to have and very cheap.
Rear filler cushion - really fills out the back with some extra room for the loungers and watching the surfers.
380HP - I would recommend this as it's almost impossible to add later.
Battery Maintenance Charger - self explanatory
Mooring Cover - Nice coverage and easy on and off
Windlass - might be overkill on the R5 but I love mine.
Cruise control GPS - love this for pulling tubes, surfers, wakeboarders, and general cruising.
RGB lighting and whichever stereo option that comes with RGB speakers - Just because it looks great and you will want it later

I am sure others will chime in but the options I listed above are definetly ones I would order again. The only thing so far that I didn't order that I think I might have liked to have is the motorbox actuator. Good luck you are about to embark on an awesome adventure!
2018 R7 Surf (Sold Fall 2021)
2022 R8 Surf Ordered August 2021